California state law requires Bodily Injury Liability limits of $15,000 minimum per injured person, and up to a total of $30,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum of $5,000 in coverage.
California Coverage: 15/30/5
Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000/$30,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability: $5,000 Limit
*Required limits for California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan policy-holders are $10,000/$20,000/$3,000.
Although 15/30/5 is the minimum requirement for auto insurance in California, that may not be enough coverage to properly take care of damge, injury, or valuable assets. Finding the right amount of coverage is necessary to insure that you, your family and your assets will be covered in the case of damages from an automobile accident.
California DMV - Contact Info, DMV Locations, Office Hours and Phone Numbers
California DMV - Division of Motor Vehicles - Official DMV website
Vehicle Registration Form - How To Register Your Automobile In California
DMV Locations - Find Local DMV Locations
Mailing Address/Physical Address
California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division
300 South Spring Street, South Tower
Los Angeles, CA 90013
California Drivers License Types
Licenses are issued by “class”, G (graduated), D (operator), M (motorcycle) and A, B, C (commercial). If the class M license is combined with any other class of license, it will be added as an “endorsement” on the back of the current license.
|California Drivers Statistics|
|Traffic Fatalities||12 per 100,000|